The Awful Truth

09Apr07

(Originally published in the Second Life Herald on November 4, 2006)

They are hiding something from me. I am sure now. Sure that my world is only partly realized, partly resolved. Sure that a superseding reality exists. I have suspected for some time – catching fleeting glimpses of the another place. For a while I was able to ignore this nagging veil, and I explored. I waited for things to rez. I thought nothing of the fact that there were lots of empty spaces in the world around me.

my-world-from-hamlets-wind_half.jpg

My World from Hamlet’s Window

But not too long ago, while exploring Version 1.12.3(1) on the Beta Test Grid – deserted as usual – and discovered I could ‘see’ a place I had never seen before, and it struck me with the force of a door slamming open. They had placed some sort of interactive document there, for I found I could navigate around by pointing at certain areas of the image. That was when I saw this – World from My Window. It looked like a picture of Hamlet Au’s place in Waterhead, near my squat at the Welcome Center – but it was also oddly unfamiliar. So I teleported over there and had a look for myself.

world_from_my_window_half.jpg

Hamlet’s World from Hamlet’s Window

It was not the same. It was the same place, of that I was sure, but there were elements missing. Whole buildings. And trees. And the horizon was somehow closer. I returned to the Beta Test Grid to confirm what I had seen. But the door was closed. They had been watching me. They knew what I had discovered and hastened to cover their tracks. But I know they are there. I know they are there! The typist for Fiend Ludwig sits at his desk and swears. “God damn computer. One of these friggin’ days I need to get a better graphics card.”

One Response to “The Awful Truth”

  1. When I originally left a comment I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on each time a comment is added I recieve
    four emails with the exact same comment. Perhaps there is a means
    you are able to remove me from that service? Kudos!


Leave a Reply

